NYSC AAUP Spring 2021 Conference Agenda

sSpring 2021 Business Meeting & Conference Schedule
Friday (Business Meeting) 12:00-5:30pm
Saturday (Conference) 9:00am-4:00pm


Friday (4/9) Business Meeting (12:00-5:30pm): This meeting is open only to AAUP members in good standing and you must pre-register. Zoom invites will be sent to registrants prior to the meeting.

Saturday (4/10) Morning Program (9:00am-noon):  Systemic Issues and Actions Taken – The AAUP National Perspective

9:00am-11:30amSPEAKERS: Michael DeCesare, Hank Reichman, and Joerg Tiede

  • Mike DeCesare – serves as the Chair of the Committee on College and University Governance at AAUP National. The AAUP is currently conducting a governance investigation at multiple institutions concerning violations of governance standards and Mike is chairing that committee. His presentation will be an overview of the investigation, which will include both broader trends in governance and cases that were a part of the investigation.

  • Hank Reichman – is also a member of the governance standards investigative committee and has written extensively on the topic of academic freedom and collective bargaining. Hank will discuss current issues related to academic freedom as well as engage a discussion about the ways in which collective bargaining can serve as a protection for shared governance.

  • Joerg Tiede – who used to work in the Department of Academic Freedom, Tenure, and Governance has recently moved to the newly formed Research Department at AAUP National. Joerg is currently working on a national shared governance survey and will be presenting the results of the survey and, more specifically, the relation of shared governance and collective bargaining in the context of the survey.

11:30am-12:00pmQ & A

12:00-12:15Awards Presentation – NYSC AAUP Outstanding Achievement and Service Award

12:15-1:00 – LUNCH 

Saturday (4/10) Afternoon Program (1:00-4:00pm): Homecourt Threats to Academic Freedom, Tenure, and Shared Governance – Voices of NYS Faculty

1:00-3:00pm – PANELISTS: Daniel Kotzin (Medaille College), Thomas X. Carroll (Keuka College), Mark James (Molloy College), Robert (Bob) Hansbrough (The College of St. Rose), Mary Rose Kubal (WNYFC)

The panelists represent institutions of higher education in New York State that have experienced significant threats to academic freedom and shared governance. They will be sharing their experiences and offering insight into the myriad challenges and, in some cases resolutions and/or solutions.

3:00-4:00 – Q & A


Michael DeCesareMichael DeCesare is professor of sociology at Merrimack College. He is co-chair (with Michael Bérubé) of the AAUP’s COVID-19 investigating committee, chair of the AAUP’s Committee on College and University Governance, and second vice president of the Massachusetts Conference. He served on the AAUP Council from 2016 to 2020, on the Council’s Executive Committee from 2018 to 2020, and as president of Merrimack’s chapter from 2012 to 2019. His most recent book is Death on Demand: Jack Kevorkian and the Right-to-Die Movement
Hank ReichmanHenry “Hank” Reichman is professor emeritus of history at California State University, East Bay, chair of AAUP’s Committee A on Academic Freedom and Tenure, and chair of the AAUP Foundation.  From 2012 to 2018 he was AAUP First Vice-President.  He is the author of The Future of Academic Freedom (Johns Hopkins University Press, 2019) and of the forthcoming in Fall Understanding Academic Freedom, also from Hopkins.  He writes regularly for Academe blogs and co-edits the AAUP Academe blog.
Joerg TiedeHans-Joerg Tiede is Director of Research at the American Association of University Professors. He conducts survey research on academic freedom, tenure, and governance. He has also written on the history of the AUP and the development of academic freedom, tenure, and governance in the United States. Before joining the staff of the AAUP, he was a professor of computer science at Illinois Wesleyan University. He is the editor of Policy Documents and Reports (the AAUP “Redbook”) and author of University Reform: The Founding of the American Association of University Professors (both Johns Hopkins University Press, 2015).
Daniel Kotzin: Dr. Daniel Kotzin, one of the founding members of the Western New York Faculty Coalition, is Professor of History in the Interdisciplinary Studies Department at Medaille College in Buffalo, NY. His research and teaching interests focus on American ethnic history. Daniel’s most recent research focuses on Irish-American soldiers during the Civil War. He teaches a broad array of history courses, including courses on American ethnic history, African-American history, and the History of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict. In addition, he is the Program Director for International Studies. Currently, Daniel is also Chair of the Faculty Council at Medaille College. 
Thomas X. Carroll: Dr. Thomas Carroll has been on the Keuka College (NY) faculty since 1982.  He is a physical chemist, and teaches Physics, Physical Chemistry, and Analytical Chemistry.  He has been an active researcher in atomic and molecular electron  spectroscopy, and has collaborated with researchers at Oregon State University and the University of Bergen (Norway) and has done experimental studies at synchrotron facilities in Berkeley, Paris, and Lund (Sweden.) Dr. Carroll has been involved with AAUP since 1982, and recently worked to revive the Keuka College Chapter.  He has extensive experience with faculty compensation issues, and has analyzed the “economic status” of Keuka faculty on an annual basis since 1990.  Currently he chairs the New York State AAUP Committee on the Economic Status of the Profession.
Mark James: Dr. Mark James is Associate Professor in English at Molloy College on Long Island, NY. He is President of the college’s AAUP advocacy chapter, serves on the college’s Faculty Council, and is a Member of the AAUP’s Committee A on Academic Freedom and Tenure. 
Robert S. HansbroughDr. Robert Hansbrough is currently Professor of Music and Coordinator of Winds and Percussion at The College of Saint Rose in Albany, NY, where he has served since 1999. From 2004-2014 he served as Interim Department Chair, Assistant Department Chair and during the last four years as Music Department Chair. He is the Founder of The Saint Rose Summer Youth Music (SrSYM) program and served as Director for five years and was the Inaugural Director of The College of Saint Rose Pre-College Experience program. Dr. Hansbrough conducts The Empire State Youth Wind Orchestra, The Faculty Camerata Chamber Orchestra, and has conducted honor bands and presented clinics and workshops throughout The United States and Eastern and Western Europe and has adjudicated bands and orchestras from 26 states, Canada, Mexico and Hungary. He has also served as the Easter Division Chair of the National Band Association Board of Directors and is widely published.  
Mary Rose Kubal: Mary Rose Kubal is Associate Professor of Political Science and Chair of the Political Science Department at St. Bonaventure University, where she is currently a Faculty Senator and former Chair of that body. She received her B.A. from Haverford College (1993) and M.A. and Ph.D. from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (1995, 2001). She has been a member of the AAUP since 2001. She has served as both President and Vice-President of her campus advocacy chapter and is currently President of the New York State Conference of the AAUP, Chair of the Independent Council, and serves on the Committee on Shared Governance.